The House Of Hidden Meanings By Rupaul

The surprising, revealing and poignant memoir from a pop culture icon and bestselling author for readers who loved THE WOMAN IN ME, LOVE PAMELA and PAGEBOY

Available: In Stock
$23.00 $28.99

From international drag superstar and pop culture icon RuPaul, comes his mostrevealing and personal work to date-a brutally honest, surprisingly poignant,and deeply intimate memoir of growing up Black, poor, and queer in a broken hometo discovering the power of performance, found family, and self-acceptance.A profound introspection of his life, relationships, and identity, The House ofHidden Meanings is a self-portrait of the legendary icon on the road to globalfame and changing the way the world thinks about drag.

Central to RuPaul's success has been his chameleonic adaptability. From dragicon to powerhouse producer of one of the world's largest televisionfranchises, RuPaul's ever-shifting nature has always been part of his brand asboth supermodel and supermogul.

Yet that adaptability has made him enigmatic to the public. In this memoir,his most intimate and detailed book yet, RuPaul makes himself truly known.

Stripping away all artifice, RuPaul recounts the story of his life withbreathtaking clarity and tenderness, bringing his signature wisdom and wit tohis own biography. From his early years growing up as a queer Black kid in SanDiego navigating complex relationships with his absent father and temperamentalmother, to forging an identity in the punk and drag scenes of Atlanta and NewYork, to finding enduring love with his husband Georges LeBar andself-acceptance in sobriety, RuPaul excavates his own biography, uncovering newtruths and insights in his personal history.

Here in RuPaul's singular and extraordinary story is a manual for living-apersonal philosophy that testifies to the value of chosen family, the importanceof harnessing what makes you different, and the transformational power of facingyourself fearlessly.

If we're all born naked and the rest is drag, then this is RuPaul totally outof drag. This is RuPaul stripped bare.

PRAISE

‘Mama Ru has already given us all so much, so you'd think you have thewhole picture. You don't. This memoir is a gift. A vivid masterclass inresilience, glamour, and the pursuit of authenticity.’ Rhys Nicholson

From international drag superstar and pop culture icon RuPaul, comes his mostrevealing and personal work to date-a brutally honest, surprisingly poignant,and deeply intimate memoir of growing up Black, poor, and queer in a broken hometo discovering the power of performance, found family, and self-acceptance.A profound introspection of his life, relationships, and identity, The House ofHidden Meanings is a self-portrait of the legendary icon on the road to globalfame and changing the way the world thinks about drag.

Central to RuPaul's success has been his chameleonic adaptability. From dragicon to powerhouse producer of one of the world's largest televisionfranchises, RuPaul's ever-shifting nature has always been part of his brand asboth supermodel and supermogul.

Yet that adaptability has made him enigmatic to the public. In this memoir,his most intimate and detailed book yet, RuPaul makes himself truly known.

Stripping away all artifice, RuPaul recounts the story of his life withbreathtaking clarity and tenderness, bringing his signature wisdom and wit tohis own biography. From his early years growing up as a queer Black kid in SanDiego navigating complex relationships with his absent father and temperamentalmother, to forging an identity in the punk and drag scenes of Atlanta and NewYork, to finding enduring love with his husband Georges LeBar andself-acceptance in sobriety, RuPaul excavates his own biography, uncovering newtruths and insights in his personal history.

Here in RuPaul's singular and extraordinary story is a manual for living-apersonal philosophy that testifies to the value of chosen family, the importanceof harnessing what makes you different, and the transformational power of facingyourself fearlessly.

If we're all born naked and the rest is drag, then this is RuPaul totally outof drag. This is RuPaul stripped bare.

PRAISE

‘Mama Ru has already given us all so much, so you'd think you have thewhole picture. You don't. This memoir is a gift. A vivid masterclass inresilience, glamour, and the pursuit of authenticity.’ Rhys Nicholson

Delivery Rates

Australia Delivery - Our delivery rates vary based on the weight and volume of your total order. An accurate shipping cost will be calculated during the checkout process. 

Delivery Times

Gift Monkey orders ship from our fulfillment partner Mighty Ape. Their warehouse is based in New Zealand with daily flights across the Tasman with Australia Post.

  • NSW, QLD, ACT   3-6 business days
  • VIC, SA  5-9 business days
  • WA, TAS 7-9 business days
  • NT 7-10 business days

     

    • Fast Shipping
      Daily Flights
    • Customer Support
      AU/NZ Team
    • Free Returns
      14 Day Returns
    • Secure Payment
      Transaction Protection
    • Quality Products
      Handled with care